PCFG Parsing

About a week ago, I finished my third homework assignment for my NLP class, which was to implement an application to do PCFG Parsing on sentences. You start with a training file of trees of sentences and use that to train your grammar. Then you write an application to take that grammar and a file of test sentences, and parse each of those sentences. It looks like my implementation works correctly, though the accuracy is only at around 70%.

This was a pretty interesting assignment, and I will probably be using it for my final project for this class. Speaking of which, my class project will serve as a preliminary venture into poetry generation territory, which is what I will do for my thesis project. For this class, the idea is to build something that will take a sentence as input, and “poetify” it, moving sentence parts around so that it sounds more like poetry.

Leave a Reply

